It feels like years

Is there any better way to welcome back the sunshine than with a bit of The Beatles? Here’s Here Comes The Sun.

It might be sunny, but it is still I-C-Y

My car was frozen over yesterday morning and there’s a cold wind that cuts to the bone. The lake in the garden seems to have lost its source feed so I’m hoping I can actually get down there and mow it in the next week or so. It’s still very swampy and under about a foot of water.

Two busy weeks coming up and a bit of a busy one last week too. It’s a spot of lunch with some lovely ladies today, which I am very much looking forward to. Plus, I might get to see Billy the Kitten. He grew up to be a very handsome boy indeed, despite being a bit special.

billy

We’re still not quite at kitten season yet, so I’m missing the little beggars. One year, we may never get to the point of needing kitty foster homes, but this year won’t be it.

Last week, I took an emergency foster on Monday afternoon. She was a sweet little girl called Vanille.

vanille

Needless to say, when she arrived, she didn’t look this pretty. The week was a whirlwind of cat tests and kid tests, haircuts and ferryings-about. Vanille was a super house-guest. If only all my visitors were so well-behaved! Vanille went to her new home on Thursday.

Other than that, it was a bit of a gearing-up for the Open Weekend at the refuge. We’re at full capacity and it’s time some dogs and cats found homes. Twelve or so will be off to Germany in April after a bit of a hiatus. The transporter had van issues and it’s only then that you realise just what a great deal he was giving us. Hounds are always the first to go, which is all good. It’s the end of the hunting season, so there are lots of dogs let loose or left. The lady who grooms our dogs at the refuge (including little Vanille) found one of a pair of old sisters a couple of weeks ago. Both dogs were in a disgusting condition. They’d either been on the lam for a long time or they’d lived like that. I think the latter. Both girls were caught within days of each other and they were easy enough to catch. Between these two and Turquoise, an elderly beagle, you can see what the end of the hunt season means. Traumatised dogs with broken spirits who are barely approachable.

That’s not to say that they’re all like this, but there are too many for it to be okay.

Other than that, we’ve got a co-working lunch later this week. That’s a lot of lunch. I’ll also be doing a lot of gardening as it really kicks up a notch temperature-wise. I say this, and I’m writing wearing a scarf and a super-thick cardigan. I think it’s just wishful thinking.

I’m also celebrating a year of Woof Like To Meet and the fact that my Facebook page picked up 2500 fans in a year. Well, that was mightily unexpected. Most of them came by way of the USA who got a bit obsessed by Bob the Labrador. I am the only person I know who ever went properly viral. It got stupid in the end. I think he’d been shared over half a million times, and seen over eleven million times! Don’t know what that was all about, but you can bet your bottom dollar that I’ll never do it again. When I die, I want “Went Viral On The Internet” added to the list of stuff I’ve done.

Wobbly Old Codger Tobby celebrated his eleventh month birthday here as well, which is very, very cool. I can’t believe it’s just less than a year since my big old fella Ralf died though. This time last year, I had a devil of a job keeping him from frolicking with calves, the scoundrel. I hope Tobby lives so large right up until his last days, I really do.

Right, I have a cake to bake. Must get my skates on. Have a good one and hopefully the sun will be coming out where you are this week

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

