Drug Store Lovin

Blue skies, bank holidays and a Much Love Tuesday with a little bit of Otis

I don’t think there’s anyone in the whole world who’s impervious to the sound of a trumpet and a bit of Otis.

I confess I got a little carried away yesterday. I spent the morning wrestling brambles in the garden, feeling like She-Ra and looking like Alan Titchmarsh. Luckily, I came away without visible injuries. The same won’t be true when it comes to the yucca bushes. Who even likes that prickly nightmare? I’ve got three as well. They look all nasty and bedraggled. If I don’t cut all the deadness off, they just look even worse. If it were an easy and painless thing, I’d chainsaw the lot of them. I get the feeling they’d fight back.

Afterwards, we had a bit of a romp in the sunshine and cold winds – it’s right what they say. April is definitely cold even though the skies are blue. The plum blossom has come and gone. The peaches are in blossom. The cherries look like they’re about to burst into blossom at any moment. This year, I need to plant a few more fruit trees – I’ve lost a good six or seven to storms in the last couple of years. I lost my big cherry last year and I’m still sad about it. Why can’t the storms take those ugly yuccas and whip them over towards the face of someone unpleasant? That’s how I know there’s no such thing as karma.

1plum4

In the afternoon, I got to have a lot of Monday Love; I went to a craft market in Mansle that was hosted by a lady who adopted the most lovely Ufo back on my birthday (you don’t forget a thing like that) Ufo had been at the refuge for seven years. As his new owner said, she had no idea why he’d been there that long. He is still as greedy as ever, but he is totally in love with his new owner. I think my happiest moment was when he looked up at Martine for reassurance – he clearly dotes on her. She says he’s afraid of the dark and won’t go outside in the dark. He also has to get in bed for a cuddle before he goes to sleep. Twenty minutes is enough for him and then he’s happy. Sadly, being big, black, male and old are a poor combination and it means these dogs get overlooked time and time again.

Not only did I get to see the handsome Ufo but I had a right good rummage in people’s buttons. It did get a bit ‘League of Gentlemen’ with several of the stallholders eyeing Sarah and I suspiciously as if we were about to rob all of the precious things of the shop.

040

 

041

042

Then Sarah took me back to hers and let me rummage in her button box. Life doesn’t get better than that.

Except if there’s cake.

Anyway, today I’m off to see the lovely Roni and to plan a campaign of world domination. Roni is one of those people who make you feel all excited the moment that you meet her. She is a mighty force in pink Doc Martens. Afterwards, a bit of a run-around for appointments. Hopefully there will be adoptions today at the refuge as well, though I don’t know if I’ll get down to see the dogs going to their new homes.

Happy Tuesday to you.

Leave a Reply

