Sweetness, sweetness, I was only joking

when I said by rights you should be bludgeoned in your bed…

Today’s MLM is brought to you by the lovely Stephen Morrissey and Johnny Marr. Johnny Marr’s Glasto set was great – the old guy has still got it. What better way to start Monday with a little Manchester love.

Do you think it would be a good thing if Morrissey and Marr put aside their differences and made up? Would it be just another disaster in the making? I don’t think they’d ever be able to see eye to eye. Maybe that’s a good thing. It’s not always good to watch old bands keep hashing it out. It’s a bit like watching your dad dancing. Or your grandfather, in the case of some. Let’s face it – some pop stars age well and some need to go more gently into that good night.

With all the cold and the rain, it feels not unlike Manchester. We spent Saturday night over on the banks of the Vienne for the fireworks at Exideuil. Exideuil is a cute little village set back off the main drag between Chabanais and Roumazières-Loubert and it has one of those churches that look like a witches’ hat. Also, instead of a clock, it has a sun dial. What with the cobbled streets and the river, it’s a beautiful little place. It was a shame the festival was so poorly attended compared to last year, because it was neither cold nor wet, and the fireworks were great. There was a samba band and a dance troupe and a band, and toffee apples to die for. I love the start of summer when you can actually turn to Sortir 16 and find plenty of things to do.

Much Love though to the cold and wet for one reason – there is literally nothing other to do than work, so I’m ripping through the marking, though I’ve slowed down a fair deal. Fatigue sets in. It’s the last week of school here, and so I might even be awarded an actual day without work at some point! To be fair, yesterday was the first time in weeks that I had a day without appointments, though I spent most of it marking. It was foggy on Saturday and it still hadn’t really lifted yesterday until mid-afternoon, when it got warm. It keeps promising warm weather, but it never materialises. XCWeather says 30° and storms by Saturday.

field scabious

 

We all had a long walk last night as the sun was going down – the hedgerows are filled with campion, poppies, thistles, scabious, clover… it’s heavenly.

IMG_0503

Whatever affliction had blighted the chickens seems to have cleared up. They are back to normal after their cyanosis. Whether it was cherries, or sunburn, or something else entirely, they’re back to usual. I never feel at ease unless all my animals are happy.

Tilly had a limp over the weekend. I suspect it was self-induced. i was worried about tick-based ailments and in reality it was more likely she jumped down off the table too quickly when a pack of treats fell on the floor. Greedy, naughty spaniel. She isn’t the only one to pilfer. I noticed the trees were missing cherries on low branches. I suspected jumping chickens, and then I found the real culprit…

IMG_0469

Naughty Heston Crow.

Heston and I have been brushing up on our walking skills. He pulls at the beginning of walks and he often barks when we’re about to go out for a walk. I don’t mind a little excitement, but it was a bit overwhelming. Anyway, I’m trying an approach of practising commands in places where he loses focus on me – hence standing outside my neighbour’s house and giving him rewards when he gives me his attention. Back-to-basics clicker training. Seems to be working though. One of the suggestions is about putting some distance between the source of distraction and the dog, and then getting focus. Not as easy as it looks. Took me 17 minutes of crow-watching to get to a point where I got eye-contact and could click. Still, easier next time. It only took 5 minutes. One day, maybe we’ll be able to walk past crows and he won’t even blink.

It’s vet time next week, and I just can’t wait for the frenzy. Last year, it was so easy. This year, I suspect it will be more like this:

I definitely will NOT have Much Love for carrying a 35kg dog into the vet’s because he is a big fraidy cat. You might well ask what the hell I’ve done to him. He is always a very worried dog.

Anyway, by this time next Monday, I might be preparing for an actual day off. I’m ready for it. I feel like I need a pinterest challenge (where you pick something off your pinterest craft, garden or DIY boards and make it) and a day of lying in the garden in the sunshine. My parasol hasn’t even made it into the garden so far this year…

Before then, it’s a hell of a week. School terms definitely finish with a bang rather than a whimper.

Leave a Reply

