My animals and other family

For the last few nights, I’ve been in bed by about ten. That electric blanket is my best friend. Last night, I thought it had broken and I nearly cried. Fortunately, it was just the thermostat and the connection and I woke up feeling warm. This is good because my extra duvet is in the wash, since Miss Tilly went for a roll on it yesterday, having come back in covered in dirt.

For a small, pretty dog, she sure does love dirt.

DSCF3108

Anyway, I’ve been making the most of this cocoon of evening warmth and catching up with some reading. I’ve finally got round to reading My Family and Other Animals which is something I’ve wanted to read for years and years and never have. And… I’m really enjoying it! I’ve always thought it would be cool to grow up in such a bohemian family who just jetted off for a few years in Corfu. I’m just jealous of anyone warm right now.

I’m only on chapter five, but I’m really enjoying it and I’m very sad I left it til now to read it; not only is it clever and funny, but it’s also a lovely description of all the people who he met. It reminds me of the holiday I had in Zakynthos with Andy, and although we spent a lot of time in the hotel, we went for a few days out in the mountains. I love the Greek islands. I keep looking at boat holidays around them and pining for warmth and blue and islands and sea.

I went to Kos town with my sister in 2001 and we had a great time. It was NOT a good year for us, but we had a great laugh, except for when I suggested we cycled into town and my sister insisted that we walk. I gave in. She sulks big time and whilst I may become a whirling dervish of tempers and swears, a bit like the cartoon Tasmanian Devil with a Tourette’s swearing problem, my sister has mastered the pout. We only stopped being cross at each other (I don’t know why she was cross at me, because I’m the one who gave in. However, I give in and I make you suffer for it… maybe that’s why we were walking the three kilometres in silence…) because we saw a woman with a terrific moustache.

013_13

Can you tell I’m missing sunshine?

I dropped some magazines off today with a guy who reassured me that spring is definitely on its way. I hope so. However, I can’t get last year’s 17 days of snow and -15 temperatures out of my head. I’m not being lulled into a false sense of security until April is out. Cast ne’er a clout, and all that.

So, what have I read this year?

  • Freakonomics
  • Dude, Where’s My Country
  • On Chesil Beach
  • Follow the Money
  • Hija de la Fortuna

Honestly, On Chesil Beach was a bit of a flop. Literally. I wouldn’t mind if Keira Knightley played the lead in that. She’s neurotic enough to frighten the life out of her husband. It’s no Atonement. I like him. I don’t like her. It’s just too… Ordinary. As the Guardian said, ‘one messy outburst and it’s over.’

Ah well. I’ll carry on enjoying Gerald Durrell. I might continue reading books about warm weather just to remind myself that winter will end.

4 thoughts on “My animals and other family

  1. So glad you finally read Durrell – I was always fascinated by the unusual family set-up 😉 Guess I have to count myself lucky for good teachers and a mother who put me onto him when I was very young! Enjoy.
    I love the way American Cockers have that topknot fur!! I met a black/white one on holiday that had it, too 🙂 English ones just grow a fringe like Elvis till it’s time for grooming again LOL…

    1. I love my pretty spaniel. She is a dirty dog though. She does love to get mucky and roll in things. One of my friends thinks she should be a character in a sitcom. I’m still enjoying Durrell right now. Absolutely loving it!

Leave a Reply

