Small businesses and social media in La France Profonde

Today, I’m doing a course for the lovely ladies of the Charente and Deux-Sèvres who are interested in blogging and all the rest. It goes without saying that trying to run a business in the area can be really difficult because it’s got a tiny population spread out over a massive area. Many people have run businesses before in the UK, like me, and found it was relatively easy going. You declare yourself to the powers-that-be and off you go. It’s your native language and when you find paperwork you don’t understand, you can ask. You can do what you do – in my case teaching and writing – without having to be everything else. But for a sole trader, you’re everything. You’re director. You’re the development department. You’re marketing. You’re sales. You’re manufacturing. You’re sourcing. You’re enquiries. You’re customer services. And like it or not, we’re not all cut out to be all of these.

In the UK, in Bolton alone, there were 18 secondary schools. I only needed one student from each school to be successful. Here, it can be an uphill battle to find clients, to market yourself and to sell your product without falling foul of irritating everyone or only encountering expensive ways of advertising. Your tried-and-tested UK ways don’t work here and you have to be so much sharper at the public face of business than you ever were.

So, essentially, this is going to be my day of talking about talking about myself. For a former boss, she’s probably ever-so upset I never learned to be humble. Being humble isn’t something that you can be in rural France, where you’re in the backwaters of a sleepy little department that doesn’t do much to promote its home-grown businesses, let alone their imported businesses.

For those of you on the course, or those of you not, all your resources are here:

Creating-an-internet-presence_1yxbdux8

 

If you click on the link, it will take you to the bubbl.us mind map. On it, you’ll find articles, feedback, how to tutorials on Youtube and much much more. It’s a resource pack for it all, from setting up each of the main strands to refining and perfecting them. If you want to know how to set up a website, there are videos to talk you through it. If you want to know the benefits as well as some hints and tips about doing it, that’s on there too.

The best thing about it is that it is truly interactive. Let me know if there’s anything you’d like me to add and I will do. Let me know if there’s anything you think I’ve missed!

6 thoughts on “Small businesses and social media in La France Profonde

  1. I hope you have had a good day. I only found out about this course this morning, when I saw it advertised elsewhere.It was too late for me to go. I was going to use that site and ask if I could have a skeg at what you were doing today. I had read your previous posts with interest, but I can see you have already posted the links. Many thanks.Rita

  2. A really great article. I am trying very hard to use your tips and ideas to get my business out there.. It’s a lot of work to keep it up, but I will persist!

Leave a Reply

