Sisters

How does anyone get through life without a sister?

My sister arrives today. It’s been a few months since I last saw her, but the best thing about my sister is that it could be years and yet it would still feel like yesterday. I know I’m going to boo when I see her though. Nobody gets me like my sister does. Nobody knows me like my sister does. And despite how different we might be, we drive the same, have the same view of people and even have the same expressions.

I ♥ my sister.

This is my favourite picture of us. It’s from the holiday where we really bonded. Ironically, it was falling out with someone else that brought us together more than anything else.

 

I don’t know why we’re doing this pose. I was 22 and she was 18, 18 years ago! How time flies!

The best thing about her is that I could be a murderer and she’d still love me. In fact, if I was mad at someone, she’d probably murder them for me. That’s what sisters do. I know I’m blessed to have her as a best friend, because not everyone has that relationship with their sister. In fact, most women don’t. They get on fine with their sisters. Or they’ve fallen out. But sometimes, a sister is a best friend above all others. She knows you better than anyone else and she loves you despite yourself. She’s seen you at your worst and your best. She’s seen you at your happiest and saddest. If something’s happened in your life, your sister’s probably been through it at your side.

And my sister is the best of sisters. I don’t care if you’ve got a good sister, I guarantee you my sister is better. Like the box she sent me at Christmas, filled with everything I could need and a few things she knows I just love. She knows what I want even when I don’t know what I want.

That’s what’s good about a sister. I’m very blessed. I know that.

 

This one is some seven years later. I’m 28 and she’s 24. Can it be true?! I was so young! Another holiday in Greece, this time just the two of us. We’d had a very crappy year between us and this two week break was about resetting ourselves. It was the best girlie holiday ever.

Anyway, here’s to 2012, to being 39, to being a sister.

To the outside world we all grow old.  But not to brothers and sisters.  We know each other as we always were.  We know each other’s hearts.  We share private family jokes.  We remember family feuds and secrets, family griefs and joys.  We live outside the touch of time.  ~Clara Ortega

Leave a Reply

