Much Love Monday

My Monday song for revving yourself up is ‘Fans’ by the Kings of Leon. Love the Kings. Whoo-hoo-hoo.

I love the Kings because they’re one of those bands that get inside your stomach and grab it and give it a good shake. Fans is my favourite of all theirs.

Despite my itching to get outside (and yes, it’s still raining… the river has not only come back but it at the point where it might burst its bank…) I’m still trapped inside. I feel like Noah. So I need to find some Much Love so I don’t end up killing someone out of cabin fever.

Steve and Jake are back to the UK for a two-week stay, so Much Love to having the house to myself. Here’s to not having to get up unless the cat tells me to. Mind you, that’s usually about 7:00, so I need to train him to have a lie-in. Unfortunately, the only way that would be is if he wasn’t wanting his breakfast, so unless I leave biscuits somewhere, which Tilly would eat, there’s not a chance of that happening. Tilly stayed right next to me all last night, the little treasure.

I’m also having Much Love for Modern Family, which is just the best comedy on at the moment. I never know who I love more – Phil Dunphy, Gloria, Luke or Cam. Apparently, according to Steve, I’m like Cam. I guess that means that I’m great at everything, funny and extremely theatrical. I nearly hurt myself laughing yesterday when I was watching the episode where Phil realises his wife and two daughters are pre-menstrual and it’s as if he’s living with neurotic psychopaths. It made me laugh because I turn into this person too – the time of the month when an advert can make me cry and I might give all my savings to Dogs’ Trust, then buy lots of bad clothes and shout at some people before bursting into tears. The funniest bit was Luke, the young son, saying: “But Dad told me never to be alone with you all when you’re monster-ating.”

Genius word play.

I think my favourite Phil quote is when he’s talking to his son, Luke: “Luke, I am your father. That’s what I said to you when you were coming out of your mom’s lady parts.”

Driving S&J to the airport made me have Much Love for the empty roads and uncongested roadworks. In seven degree weather with driving rain, I might as well have been back in England. I just have to remember that all that water is good for the green. As soon as the sun does come out, the world is going to be bright green.

As for poem of the day, I’ve gone for something short and atmospheric. The weather is obviously getting to me!

Fog

The fog comes
on little cat feet.

It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on.

Carl Sandburg

4 thoughts on “Much Love Monday

Leave a Reply

