Monday, Monday, Monday…

First off, here’s Tegan and Sara singing Monday, Monday, Monday to start you off.

So what am I loving?

I’m loving the growing season, and this season’s copy of Living Poitou-Charentes. It’s  in supermarkets, tourist offices and local businesses across the region.

ooh!

And not only that, the other thing that’s been keeping me busy is this baby:

Ahh!

And since I’m even out delivering them to all and sundry along the N141 corridor from Angouleme to St Junien over the next few (busy!) days, I’ll even get to see all the other things I love – the fine, fine countryside of the Charente, Perigord Noir and the Haute Vienne – the sunshine, the people I know, Moulin de Tin Tin, the very fine Domaine D’Etang in Massignac – dream!

However, it’s a bit of a busy, bits-and-pieces week. Angouleme this morning, then racing round delivering before teaching, then more deliveries interspersed with a coffee break with the lovely Hege, then more deliveries, more teaching, more teaching, more teaching, deliveries, deliveries, teaching, deliveries, teaching, teaching, teaching… And then Sunday! Wow! It’s going to be a busy one!

I’ve almost finished my little cabinet – hopefully I’ll have some pictures to show. It’s looking lovely. We all need a revamp from time to time!

It’s growing like billy-o out there right now, though it’s too dry. The soil is already like dust. It’s set to be sunny all for the next week – whilst I love the sun, I never, ever thought I would say ‘I wish it would rain’. I look at some of my photos from the August we moved here, and it was SO green and SO lush. Already, it’s so dry – worse than it was in August 2010. Cabbages, cauliflower, lettuces, red cabbages, savoy cabbages, onions, beetroot, carrots, peas, beans, leeks, broccoli – all beginning to put out leaves. I’ve also got an idea for how I want to get some borders put in and a little bit of floral delights – our garden is bereft of anything flowery, which is a shame.

I’m also Much Loving my Mum’s embroidery. These rainbow squares – they’re my Mum’s!

Next weekend, many of the region’s cultural attractions throw open their doors for a freebie, so hopefully, we’ll get to go to Aubeterre-sur-Dronne – which has been on my list forever. I love Brantome, and those in the know say Aubeterre is even more beautiful. I’ll pack a picnic and we’ll go on Sunday – my first ‘day of rest’ in three weeks, believe it or not! I don’t mind, because as soon as I see that blue sky, it’s like being on holiday, even if I’m working. I could work all day with blue sky to look at. When it rains, I work because there’s less to do – and I want to get the work out of the way for the sunny days.

In all honesty, I’m just trying to get through to the holidays – our region’s schools break up on the 20th April – or somewhere around there – and I’m going to have a bit of a work break. I say this, and I’ll probably not. Oh well.

Monday poem will follow, my dears!

Leave a Reply

