What I loved yesterday…

Yesterday, I was searching for photos of the ladies in the djellabas sitting outside the Hassan II Mosque in Casablanca and I remembered how fantastic Morocco is. In fact, I’d quite like to live there, although having read a few books on the subject of living in Morocco, it does seem beset by problems I have the good luck not to encounter in life in rich old Europe. If Marine Le Pen gets in to power, this is where I’m headed.

I travelled around Morocco in what became known as Le Grand Tour – Casa, Rabat, Fez, the Atlas Mountains, the Sahara, Ait Benhaddou, Essaoira and Marrakech. My favourite part might have been Essaoira, but I loved all of it. Casablanca is an underrated city – it was warm and friendly, if very business-orientated. Marrakech was fascinating if frustrating at times. Those of you who know me well know how little I like the beaten path and if I can find a place less travelled, I enjoy it so much the more.

But I realised I had some amazing pictures of the Yves St Laurent gardens in Marrakech – it’s wonderful. It was the colourful highlight of my trip to Marrakech. Marrakech in March is lush. The trees were laden with oranges; the hotel was a 20 minute walk through various public gardens down to the walled city.

3 thoughts on “What I loved yesterday…

  1. Wow, how..er……blue is that! I’m not quite sure how to descibe it, but if you want a definition of blue, then it’s in these pictures.

    Fabulous photographs and thanks for sharing them.

Leave a Reply

