Aching feet

It’s been another busy day today – seems like a lot got done. We’ve painted a bit more of the front room last night – though as is typical with French paint, it’s way too thin to manage just one coat – or even two. Still, it looks a whole lot brighter and better than it did.

Muscari

Steve has been busy getting all the muck out of my car, and I have been busy planting, even though today – shock horror – was a a noeud lunaire. I don’t know what that really is. A lunar knot??!  A lunar node??! Anyway, Rustica says that under no circumstance are you to do anything AT ALL in the garden when it’s a lunar knot. But I did. More fool me.

Peach blossom

Probably everything in the garden will die now I’ve gardened when there was a lunar knot. Anyway… here’s what’s in so far:

Leeks, turnips, carrots, radishes, cauliflowers, cabbages, red cabbages, parsnips, basil, thyme, rosemary, oregano, coriander, broad beans, peas, tomatoes, lettuces, courgettes, peppers, gherkins, chilli peppers, stocks, sweet peas, petunias, zinnias, marigolds, poppies, campsis radicans, aquilegia, pansies, verbascum, linaria, verbena, alyssium, nasturtiums and achillea. I think!

Chaenomeles Japonica

I had two beautiful (if tiny!) ornamental quinces back in Manchester – a very pale pink one and a bright red one. I’d love to get them all over. Maybe one day… And I’d also love camellias, magnolia and azaleas, but we’re in a limestone area here and they don’t grow well. Not that this would stop me setting up a ‘bruyere’ bed and keeping them in there, but they’re also all pricey items. I’ve got a tiny magnolia stellata in Bolton. So much of what is here is functional that I feel I’ve got a bit of a way to go to pretty things up. Gardens are so much more than function!

Poly Tunnel Peas

I planted out some more gherkins, radishes and courgettes today, and cleared the poly-tunnel of weeds. I dug over 2 rows of the newly rotivated brassica patch – want to get these planted up in the next few days. I’m happy to say that the peas and broad beans I put outside last Wednesday are flourishing and I’m going to put more out next week some time. Now most of our seeds are in and have taken, bar the sweetcorn and melon, most of our job is going to be potting on and keeping healthy. Hopefully, this will be all good!

Early peach blossoms

Our peach, as you can see, has its first blossoms, as does the first one near the poly-tunnel. As yet, the only things to blossom have been the two ornamental plums near the house and the apricot – which I’ve heard is always first and a late frost can kill off. The nectarine looks like it will be next. I can’t wait! It seems like every time I go outside these days, something new and different is going on!

3 thoughts on “Aching feet

Leave a Reply

