Listening to the wise (wo)man’s communion

Sometimes, there are people who touch our lives in profound and interesting ways without knowing it. Last week, I had a problem with United Utilities who owed me a lot of money. At the time, it meant I couldn’t get Steve home in time for Jake’s birthday (thanks Sis!)

Having had a rant, Anne, the lady who I originally spoke to (and who, unfortunately faced my wrath against the Empire that is a utilities company… note to self: remember, it’s not the little people you’re mad at, but the corporation!) has called me repeatedly to check on me. I couldn’t have been luckier. She called me twice to see if the meter man had been and what the reading was. Then she called me today, told me to sit down and said she’d harassed the powers-that-be to fast track the cheque, and it’ll be here within 5 days. That’s brilliant. I love this. I love Anne. Anne, I hope you get good karma for your deeds. I really do. I admit, it must have a bit like Phoebe and the toner man.

Not only has the wonderful Anne aided me, but I went to my mum’s last night. Strange as this may sound, my mum has learned to cook.

My mum is a very hit-and-miss cook. She means well, but she skimps on the ingredients, buys cheap and then it’s not so good. I don’t know how she does it. If she makes carbonara, it’s runny. If she makes spaghetti, it’s tasteless. I remember a lot of spag bol growing up, something in pork she used to do, and I’m guessing a lot of boiled potatoes. I don’t remember it. My nana, on the other hand, was the Doyenne of cooking. She can make a sandwich better than you’ve ever eaten. I promise. Her bread tastes better, her salmon sandwiches rule. Her pork pies are always good. Mostly it’s bought stuff, but on nana’s plates, it tastes heavenly. Mum’s food was, at best, functional. Nana’s food was, at worst, enjoyable.

Anyway, my mum has decided to follow recipes – and good quality ones – and last night, she made a fantastic risotto. I enjoyed it! Bloody hell. She’s almost 60 and finally she cooks something that has layers of taste.

My mum is a great mum, though we don’t always see eye to eye. She taught me many things about being a mum.

1. We all do the best we can in the best way we know how.

2. People aren’t saints: they can’t be perfect, even if they try.

3. Your children should be happy and never know if bad stuff is happening

4. Rules is rules.

5. We all turn out alright in the end.

6. Let your children make the choices they need to make, no matter how hard it is to you.

7. Support them, even if they’re crazy (thanks mum!)

8. You don’t need to tell them what values to hold. If you model them, they’ll do it anyway

9. Children aren’t like plants: you can’t prune them, even if you don’t like how they’re growing

10. Children are like plants: you can only feed and nurture them and then hope for the best.

My mum is great.

Then, I have the luck to fall on several very useful blogs today, all through a chance following from one blog to another yesterday. My favourite is this one!

Yesterday, I sent a text to Steve saying there was too much oestrogen about and we needed some testosterone to calm things down a bit… but turns out, I was wrong. We can muddle through the hormones and the bitchiness and the tricky exes who won’t let go and the women who make our life harder, simply because there are a lot of fantastic women out there too!

Leave a Reply

