LJ’s political rantings continued…

Just a thought… if the country can’t decide who to vote for, isn’t it clear that the major parties aren’t saying what we want them to say…. therefore they don’t reflect the views of the public they are supposed to represent?

I would like to point out I made a joke on my facebook status about the ‘hung’ parliament already, but I can’t have been the only one with this spontaneous idea…

Peter Brookes - The Times

I think there needs to be some serious consultation with the public. After all, our MPs are supposed to represent our views. Labour represent some of my views, but there’s a lot I’m opposed to: I don’t believe they’re tough enough on poor standards of education and they don’t do enough to make it difficult for teachers to slip through the net. SATs aren’t the answer to that. I don’t believe in the SATs and I don’t like how education is run by people who have little idea of schools: having been in one isn’t satisfactory! That’s like having a cabbage run a farm, just because it grew up on one. I know of terrible teachers who drift from class to class, no discipline, not really doing anything that stimulates the kids, only ever teaching in a way they were taught and not thinking about what would interest the kids.

And all the tests do is make you teach to them. You’d be a fool not to. If you are hung, drawn and quartered by Ofsted on your results, then you better damn well make sure you put the ball through the hoop they’ve set. Football is judged on goals scored, not on how well they played, or ‘background info’ like how many footballers in the team are from deprived backgrounds, how many were present on the day. Alex Ferguson never says ‘well, we played fantastic, amazing football, but we didn’t score any goals,’ It’s not enough to satisfy the fans/owners/TV companies etc… and schools are in the same position: judged by goals scored, not football played.

Alex Ferguson would be classed a moron if he didn’t train Rooney et al on goal scoring skills. Jonny Wilkinson has a kicking coach. Yes you do all the other things to get you to your goal, but your goal is the end point, the be-all and end-all. So what’s the point of being able to execute a beautiful, balletic header if it isn’t by way of helping you score goals?

And then teachers are questioned about why they are teaching kids to score goals, rather than do ballet on the pitch. Grrrrrrr. If you don’t want us to teach to the goal, make other features of the game important, and then we’ll teach to them. We’d be morons if we didn’t.

And you wonder why we’re all experts at teaching to the test… well, we are symptoms, not the cause. We are a reaction, only. You can’t look at the goal scorers in football and say too much importance is placed on the goal. You need to go back to ‘why’ they need to score goals. And that is because it’s how we’re measured.

Don’t measure us at all, and it’ll no doubt end up like a Sunday afternoon kick-about in the park: you’ll have some competitive so-and-sos who’ll want to show off; you’ll have those who are naturally good; you’ll have those who try but are crap, and you’ll have those who hide behind a tree; you’ll have those who’ll want to play rugby instead, and those who bastardise the rules. That’s a bit of a crap system, and it certainly won’t make us a nation of footballers. But don’t be blaming us when you introduce our goalposts and you don’t like us trying to shoot for them.

I believe in equality. I believe in fairness. I believe in living where you want. I believe in education. I believe in policing. I believe every child is born with infinite potential to excel in areas they enjoy. I believe in freedom. I believe in freedom of speech. I’m Amnesty International and I’m Compassion in Farming. I believe in punishments fitting the crime, but I also believe after your punishment, you should be free. I believe in second chances. I don’t believe in third chances. I believe in talk and communication. I don’t believe in paperwork and endless accountability and meetings. I think the boss of every public sector should spend time doing what the people do: if you’re a head-teacher, teach. If you’re a nurse, practise medicine. I believe this country has too many Indian Chiefs and not enough Indians.

I’m bits of Labour: I believe in the 40% tax bracket, and a 50% and a 60%, even. If you’re rich, count your blessings and share the wealth. You can discount donations anyway…. so the rich can choose where it goes. I believe in equality in all things and I believe in fair immigration and real asylum. The trouble is, they’re too Harriet-Harperson-bound to be able to ask the right questions, and the officials are too out of touch with the cheats. There’s no personal responsibility or ability to make a judgement call. I believe we’re too soft on illegal immigrants and illegal asylum seekers: they thin the pot so that there’s not enough to go around. I believe in supporting Afghanistan: we used it for too long as a weapon between our historical enemies and it IS our mess to clean up. I believe in saying ‘no – that’s not we believe’ to countries with oppressive regimes and refusing to deal with them. I believe, too, in accepting we fought our way out of feudal society through work and industry, 16 hour days, slums, poverty, slavery, war and disease… and it’s unfair to judge others by our current standards. But it’s difficult to reconcile these beliefs with the Labour party, who should be the ones to endorse them and represent my view. They’re a colossal beast that has become unmanageable and unwieldy, a bureaucratic Hydra. We forget that there is much less homelessness, far fewer beggars, that old people don’t die of the cold because the papers are filled with council and PCT fat-cats who are soaking up salaries and doing nothing in return.

The worst part is that I read the Labour Party manifesto and I believe in it, but when it comes out of the mouths of Miliband and Harman and Balls, I don’t believe them. They have their own agendas and ambitions: no politician should seem ambitious, only self-effacing. And yet these Labour party idiots who symbolise everything I despise about Labour are three of the five mentioned as potential replacements for Brown, our unelected leader. Sickening. The ethos they breathe doesn’t sit right with the people I believe them to be. I believe in that ethos, but not them as people. And therein lies a problem. I’d vote Labour if I weren’t voting for Balls and Harman and Miliband and Brown. I’d vote Old Labour, for Kinnock and Smith, Beckett and even Prescott, but these Nu-Lab breeds speak with forked tongue.

Leave a Reply

